Scholarships, Grants & Gerson Award

NCEA's Esthetician Scholarship

Download Esthetician Scholarship Application Here (.pdf)

Eligible esthetician students can receive a $1,000 incentive scholarship while attending esthetic school. Applicants must be midway through an esthetician only training program, maintain at least 80% attendance, and 80% grade average.  A selection committee comprised of NCEA members will review all applications that meet the requirements and are verified by the student's school.

Quarterly Application Deadline Dates Are:
March 1st             September 1st            June 1st            December 1st 

To apply, complete this form and attach a one-page typed explanation* of your financial need and desire to become an esthetician.  *Be sure to include your full name/address on your one-page typed explanation.

MAIL TO: NCEA Scholarship, P.O. Box 484, Ridgewood, NJ 07451-0484.

                 No faxes will be accepted.  
                Do not send application as registered mail or requiring a signature.

PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY       (Illegible or incomplete applications will NOT be accepted)

Required information in order for student's application to be accepted.

Start Date   Graduation Date     Grade Average     Attendance%

Scholarship Winner Notification
The winner will be personally contacted via phone and/or email. At that time, the winner will be asked to provide a photo and short biography.  Please Note: Due to the large number of applications, NCEA is unable to send out a receipt confirmation or denial letters. The selection process can take up to 12-16 weeks. We suggest that the student join the FREE eNewsletter at or  The winner will be announced through the association eNewsletter.

To receive NCEA News - Sign up here

NCEA Gerson Award for Excellence in Esthetic Education

In honor of Mr. Gerson’s contribution to education of the esthetic professional, NCEA is pleased to announce the creation of the “Gerson Award for Excellence in Esthetic Education”

In 1970, Joel Gerson began teaching esthetic skin care and facial treatments in New York City. He soon discovered the lack of educational materials available for the training of estheticians. He was unable to find a practical "how to" textbook, or a comprehensive course outline, that was both easy to understand, and thorough in its contents.
So, in 1977 he decided to write the textbook that would provide the curriculum materials, including "step-by-step" illustrations needed by teachers and
students. The most important undertaking of his professional career, was writing the "Standard Textbook for Professional Estheticians", published by Milady. Creation of this textbook also paved the way for state regulatory boards and regulation of estheticians through licensure, and subsequently, development of the NCEA Certified credential.
In the 1999 revised edition, NCEA’s executive director, Susanne Warfield became the first co- author of two chapters: “Sterilization, Disinfection and Safety in the Salon,” and “Estheticians Working with Physicians.” Since then, many other contributors have played an important role in updating this textbook, known today as the “Standard Esthetics Fundamentals.”

General Information:
Applicants must be currently employed as an Esthetics Teacher and demonstrate excellence in providing esthetic education. All applications must be received no later than November 30th, 2017. Applications received after this date will be disqualified as well as incomplete applications.

Aurie J. Gosnell Scholarship

The deadline date for accepting applications for the Aurie J. Gosnell Scholarship is May 31st.  This scholarship was established by NIC in memory of Aurie J. Gosnell, the founder of the NIC National Testing Program.

Four scholarships in the amount of $1,250 are awarded each year to eligible individuals for training in cosmetology and related fields (barber, esthetics,nail technology).  The application form is attached and may be downloaded from the NIC website at  Recipients of the scholarships will be announced at the annual NIC conference.

Education Grants

There are no Education Grants available at this time.

Past Scholarship Winners

In Alphabetical Order

Tammy Cerullo
Lafayette, IN

Marilee Dely
Flemington, NJ

Brandon Doyle
San Francisco, CA

Camilla Frandsen
South Jordan, UT

Nakia Jones
Tinley Park, IL

Jennifer Krisco
Albuquerque, NM

Tiffany LePham
Fountain Valley, CA

Margie Long
Monroe, OH

MSgt Cathryn M. Lucero
El Cajon, CA

Celine Matthews
San Francisco, CA

Paige Cameron Milke
Grand Rapids, MI

Monica McGregor
Wichita, KS

Jennifer Moran
Collins, NY

Amber Peter
San Francisco, CA

MaryAnn Pinote
Columbia, TN

Lindsay Roland
Omaha, NE

Christy Talavera
Milwaukee, WI

Sindee Tran
San Diego, CA

Melissa Woelk
Kennewick, WA